Sweet Roll Dough for My Boyo

Jason making his own cinnamon rolls, because he was in Italy, and I was in Utah.
Jason making his own cinnamon rolls, because he was in Italy, and I was in Utah.

I know, the title is a terrible forced rhyme, but it’s just late enough (12:24 a.m.) that I can’t think of a more appropriate one.  It kind of reminds me of the time I was taking a poetry writing class, and we had to write a poem breaking as many of the rules as we could.  Mine was titled, Sitting on a Corn Chip, so my (non) felicity with creating titles comes naturally, I think.  But, on to the rest of the post:

More than once I have acquiesced to Jason’s ill-timed request that I make cinnamon rolls.  I don’t make them very often, and I don’t know exactly why I say yes to making them at 10:00 p.m. — I guess I love the boy, Jason, who is no longer a boy, but still loves my cinnamon rolls.  He is getting married soon (T-8 days) and will be moving out.  I will miss our late-night conversations while I am waiting for the dough to rise at 11:30 p.m. so I can bake the carmel-pecan batch and then the regular ones.  Methinks the next time I make them for him, he will be a married man.

Sweet Roll Dough*

Approximately 36 Rolls

Ingredients

Dough

  • 2 ½  cup milk
  • 1 ½  cup butter, softened
  • 8 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 (.25 ounce) package instant yeast
  • ¾  cup white sugar
  • 1 ½  teaspoon salt
  • ¾  cup water
  • 3 eggs

Filling

  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Directions

  1. Heat the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbles, then remove from heat. Mix in butter; stir until melted. Let cool until lukewarm.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 1/4 cup flour, yeast, sugar and salt; mix well. Add water, egg and the milk mixture; beat well. Add the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring well after each addition. When the dough has just pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth, about 5 minutes.
  3. Cover the dough with a damp cloth and let rest for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, cinnamon, softened butter.

Divide dough evenly into two or three equal portions, depending on what kind of rolls you want to make.

  1. For Cinnamon Rolls: Roll out dough into a 12×9 inch rectangle. Spread dough with butter/sugar mixture. Sprinkle with raisins if desired. Roll up dough and pinch seam to seal. Cut into rolls and place cut side up in pan.

For Cinnamon Pull-a-parts: Melt a 2 cubes of butter, swirl  ½ of melted butter around in bundt pan.  Pinch off balls of dough (about walnut sized) dip in butter, and then roll in a mixture of sugar (brown or white) and cinnamon, layer evenly in bundt pan. When baked, turn out on plate and drizzle thin icing over the top. Serve warm.

For Caramel Rolls: Melt 1 cube butter in bottom of pan, stir in 1 cup of brown sugar,  sprinkle generously with pecan or walnut bits.  Roll out dough into a 12×9 inch rectangle. Spread dough with butter/sugar mixture. Cut into rolls and place in pan, cut side up. When baked turn pan out so filling is on top.  (Kind of like pineapple  upside down cake.)

  1. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until browned.  Serve warm

Frosting for Cinnamon Rolls or Pull Aparts

¼ c milk

¼ c. butter, softened

A pinch of salt

1 tsp. vanilla

Powdered Sugar (enough to make a thin icing)

Pour over warm pan of cinnamon rolls, spread evenly with spatula, let cool a little before serving.

*Adapted from this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/ninety-minute-cinnamon-rolls/Detail.aspx

4 thoughts on “Sweet Roll Dough for My Boyo

  1. I’ll have to try this for my Boyo. And I really want to read “Sitting on a Corn Chip”–really!

    I’m enjoying the way your wit and personality shine through your blog articles. Way to be! 😉

    Like

    1. I don’t know why that is. . . but, it’s so, and true to form, it’s after midnight, and we are waiting for them to finish rising so they can go in the oven. It’s a good thing I love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

