Momma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

chicken-noodle-soup
I made chicken noodle soup tonight, and it was amazing, according to my son. I also caught the Pokemon! 

 

When I was a girl, one of my favorite meals was thick, creamy chicken and noodles served over mashed potatoes. It was a comfort food then, and chicken and noodles still conjure comfort for my family.  My mother taught me how to make the soup complete with homemade egg noodles.  It was hard for me to believe that something so delicious is so easy to make.

I have taken her recipe and made it my own. Her version involved boiling a whole chicken and saving the broth, and pulling the meat off the chicken, and mine uses shortcuts like the microwave, chicken broth, and boneless, skinless chicken breasts to speed up the process. But the noodle recipe is the same, and the comforting aroma still makes me think of sitting at my mom’s kitchen table enjoying  a bowlful, or watching my kids eat it up as they sit around my kitchen table.  Today, my daughter, Katie, sent me a text asking for the recipe. So for her and anyone else that needs to serve up a homey memory, here it is:

Momma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

(with Homemade Noodles)

Broth with Chicken

2-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts*

3 – 4 10.6 oz cans chicken broth

2-3 carrots – shredded (set aside)

3-4 stalk of celery – chopped

1 onion – chopped

1-2 c. water + 1 cube chicken bouillon per cup

salt & pepper to taste

*Depending on how much soup you want to make, add meat and/or vegetables for a larger pot of soup. You can also use chicken thighs, but use twice as many in place of chicken breasts. Increase the amount of chicken broth/water to cover. 

Directions:

Place chicken breasts in a single layer in a covered container and microwave 10-14 minutes. While chicken breasts are cooking, simmer chicken broth, chopped onion, and celery in a large stock pot.

When chicken is cooked, cut into small chunks (a pair of kitchen shears works well for this) and add to the simmering broth. Add enough additional water (and chicken bouillon cubes – one per cup of extra water) so vegetables are barely covered. Continue to simmer.

Egg Noodles

2 eggs, beaten

¼ c. milk

1 ½ tsp. salt

2 – 2 ½ c. flour

While broth is simmering and chicken is cooking make noodles. In a medium size mixing bowl, beat eggs about three minutes with a wire whisk, add milk and salt. Mix. Add 2. cups of the flour, mix with a fork until dough is stiff; add additional flour if needed, a tablespoon at a time.

Sprinkle a couple of tablespoons of flour out on the countertop. Place half of the dough on counter and roll out until it is about ⅛” – ¼” thick in a rectangular shape. (Use enough flour underneath the dough so it doesn’t stick to counter.) Cut noodles so they are about ¼ inch wide. (Use a pizza cutter to make this a quick job.) Use a spatula to lift them up off the counter, place them aside and let them rest for 5 – 10 minutes. Repeat with second half of dough.

When the noodles are resting, increase the temperature of the broth from simmering to a full boil. Drop the egg noodles into the boiling broth, stirring to separate them. Add the shredded carrots and salt and pepper to taste. Cook for ten minutes on medium heat. If you want a thicker broth, mix 2 tablespoons of flour into ¾ cup of cold water with a fork. Then add to the boiling soup the last five – ten minutes of cooking time. The soup will thicken as it cools. Serve with toasted bread, cornbread, or crackers.

2 thoughts on “Momma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. So my daughter, Katie, just posted this comment on my FB page. It filled me full of warm fuzzies. Thanks Kate:

    Gratitude month! Day 1: I’m grateful for my mother’s willingness to share her recipes, and teach me to cook long-distance. I made her homemade chicken noodle soup tonight, and thanks to her blog with the recipe, it was easy to find, and easy to follow. Boy was I surprised when I took a bite and it tasted exactly how mom’s does! Even the noodles! Thanks, KyneWynn, for the recipe, and all of the wonderful memories that go with chicken noodle soup. heart emoticon

    Like

Leave a Reply

