Grilled Trout – Surprise, Surprise, Surprise! (A Flashback, and the Alaskan Saga Continued)

A few days ago, after doing battle with a fence (and losing) but inadvertently making a single serving of applesauce (the subject for another blog post); I was bundled up on the couch, with the twin consolation of chocolate and Dr. Pepper, near at hand, and Downton Abbey season three helping me forget my bruised body and pride. I am lost in drama of a grand English estate when there is a knock at the door.  Pausing the show, I slowly limp to the stairs, and walk down them a step at a time, the same way a toddler would, to open the door.

And there, on the doorstep, stands my sister.  The one who lives in Alaska! What a pleasant surprise.  Normally I only see her once every year or so, but this year, I’ve been blessed to see her three times now.  And that makes me happy!  It was a brief visit, but I enjoyed it so much. And she had a huge smile on her face too, brimming with the success of her surprise.

My mom and baby sister.
My mom and baby sister.

Growing up in a family of six; four brothers, plus my baby sister, who is twelve years younger than I, meant that my sister and I shared a room.  This wasn’t a problem, I had waited a long, long, time for a sister.  In fact, when I found out my mom was pregnant, I prayed every night that I would have a baby sister (and if you know what living with four brothers is like, you will know why I prayed for that! If she had been a boy, I think I would have quit believing in God then and there, so great was my faith, that he would make sure I had a sister). In any case, I was overjoyed when she was born, and finally, I had a sister.  Oh how I adored and spoiled her, and took pictures of her.

When she was four, and I was sixteen, we were still sharing a room.  Being a teenager, I was often out in the evenings, and she was asleep in our shared bed by the time I got home. A light was left on in the walk-in closet for her, so she wouldn’t be afraid, and when I slipped in, I used the same light to prepare for bed.  Well, one night, I got home after midnight, prepared for bed in the walk-in closet, and then, before I turned the light out, I flipped back the covers prior to getting into bed,

and there —on my pillow—  was a FISH, its gimlet eye staring up at me!

My sister and I, the year I graduated from high school.
My sister and I, the year I graduated from high school.

I fled the scene, a scream rising in my throat, my feet pounding down the stairs, the scream catching up, and startling my parents into wakefulness.  It was traumatic.  I mean, who expects to find a fish in her bed?  Not me!

Fish removal duty fell to my Dad, and even though I think he wanted to laugh, he didn’t.  He explained he had taken my li’l sis fishing that afternoon, and she caught her very first fish.  Apparently, she wanted to show me her big catch,  but fell asleep before I got there, but she and her fish slept peacefully waiting for me to get home. She slept through the whole thing. And me, I’ve never forgotten her first fish. Now she goes ice-fishing near her Alaskan home, and she still is full of surprises for me, liking stopping in for a random visit.  Love ya Sis.

Alaskan Ice Fishing
Alaskan Ice Fishing

Oh, and recipe you say?  Well, even though dead fish in my bed are rather traumatizing for me (yes I have other fish/trauma stories); I will share a recipe I found for grilled trout. It is similar to the way my mom cooked fish, IFRC (If I Recall Correctly).  I may even try trout again, too, someday, maybe.

Lemon Grilled Whole Trout Foil Packets

Grilled Whole Trout Foil Packets

Recipe By:Reynolds Wrap(R) Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil
Ingredients
  • 2 whole trout – cleaned, rinsed, patted dry
  • 2 sheets Reynolds Wrap(R) Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil
  • Kosher salt to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 large leek, thinly sliced
  • 2 large lemons, thinly sliced
  • 4 sprigs fresh dill, or as desired

Directions

  1. Preheat an outdoor grill to 350 degrees. Lay out two large sheets of heavy duty Reynolds aluminum foil (long enough to wrap fish).
  2. Sprinkle inside of the trout with kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. Place 3 to 4 lemon slices, sliced leeks and a couple sprigs of fresh dill into each cavity.
  3. Place 3 slices of lemon down the middle of each foil sheet and lay the stuffed fish on top and fold the foil up loosely around the fish and seal seems tightly.
  4. Place the two packets on the grill and cook until fish is cooked through and flakes easily, 18 to 22 minutes.
  5. Remove packets from grill, unwrap and season with a little more salt and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice, if desired.
3 thoughts on “Grilled Trout – Surprise, Surprise, Surprise! (A Flashback, and the Alaskan Saga Continued)

  1. Loved your story! Utah trout is good! My favorite way to make it nowadays is to drive to Brigham City, stop at Maddox’s and order some!

    Like

Leave a Reply

