Fiesta Chicken w/ Spanish Rice

934657_10200869294027446_1386825050_n

I have a confession to make. I rarely cook with actual recipes unless I am baking. The recipes I’ve included in this blog, if they are not attributed to somebody else, are recipes I’ve played around with until I like the result,  or I’ve just made them up, and if my kids liked it, I kept making it, or they are dishes my mother, mother-in-law, or grandmas taught me to cook. I don’t remember my Mom using recipes much either, or perhaps she just keeps them in her head the way I do.

So there you have it,  my cooking blog is created by someone who generally doesn’t follow written recipes.  One of the reasons I started this blog was because my children, all now adults, often ask me how to make this dish or that dish that I used to make.  And I have to stop and think, and figure it out, and write it down.  And posting them to a blog is the easiest way to get them out to my kids. I have six children, and so I can never remember who I’ve told what.  I am constantly getting two types of comments,  one is “Mom! Why didn’t you tell me that?”  and the other is “Mommmm, you told me that already, twice.”   So this way, at least for recipe requests, I can post a link, and whoever wants it can have it, and hopefully, I won’t post it to their FB pages twice.

I really do love my kids. They are awesome.  This is a fairly recent picture of them catching some air.

10814238_10152676421620826_709138247_n

But I digress, back to the Fiesta Chicken — this one I totally made up.  But it is colorful, tasty, easy to make, filling, takes less than an hour, and it caters to my liking for hominy.  Enjoy!

Fiesta Chicken with Spanish Rice 

Ingredients

1 -2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 green pepper, sliced into thin strips

1 red pepper, sliced into thin strips

1/2 – 1 onion,  chopped

1  can of hominy, drained

1 Tbsp. chili powder (optional)

olive oil

Cook the chicken either boil, pan fry, or microwave. Cut into chunks (about 1-inch squares) set aside.  Heat several tablespoons of olive oil in a frying pan, heat. Saute the peppers and onions until translucent.  Add the chicken and  hominy, stir until heated through.  Add chili powder and salt and pepper to taste.

Serve over Spanish rice, add avocado, shredded cheddar cheese, and diced tomatoes if desired.

Other Toppings 

Avocodo, Cubed

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Diced Tomatoes

Spanish Rice 

If you are in a hurry, you can use a mix type. This is one of the few things I actually use a mix for, although as I get older I cheat more.  And if it’s just for a couple of people it’s just easier. The drawback is it simply doesn’t taste as good as homemade,  so if you want made-from-scratch, here is a great basic recipe from my friend, Betty Crocker.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

