Marcela’s Mexican Chicken Soup

 

Marcela's Soup
Bottom: 1- Being silly, 2- Me, Marcela, her mother, 3-American Abuela

Marcela is my adopted Mexican daughter — okay, so I didn’t actually adopt her because she was already an adult when she came to live at my house.  But, I have adopted her as my own.  She is my true middle child, and you can read that story here: Marcela’s Story (when I actually get it posted, which I am hoping to do over the weekend);  in any case, she is a daughter of my heart, and I am her baby’s American abuela (grandma).

This is a recipe Marcela’s friend taught us, and then Marcela and I made it together several times, and it is ever so good!  I took pictures of the labels so I can get the right ingredients when I go to the store without her, if I have to.  We have so much fun laughing and talking when we get together to make this. Love that girl so much!

Soup Broth 

6 large fully ripened red tomatoes

1/2 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, diced

1/2 pkg Chile Ancho Entero (Whole Ancho Chili), dried- remove and discard the seeds before cooking; the seeds create the hotness factor, so if you want super spicy soup, leave some of the seeds in — I’m a gringo, so I remove them.

(I took pictures of the labels too, so I can find the right stuff in the Mexican food section of my local grocery store.)

Soup Fixins (1)

Simmer together until tender. Blend until smooth (You may have to do this in two batches.) Strain through a colander to take out big chunks of pulp, use a wooden spoon to mash it down and get the juice out.  Discard pulp.  Return the now strained broth to the stove at a low simmer. Wisk in 2-3 tablespoons of Caldo de Tomate and a little water if the broth seems too thick. Add salt and pepper to taste.  The broth should look as pictured above.

This makes a fairly large batch of broth.  At this point it is ready to serve, or it be refrigerated and reheated for serving later, or it can be frozen if desired. Also, if it’s too spicy for your palate, add a little more water to dilute it, and maybe another spoonful of Caldo de Tomate so you don’t lose flavor.

Filling/Toppings 

Cooked chicken (I use a couple of boneless, skinless chicken breasts  cooked in the microwave for about ten – 12 minutes on high, then cut into chunks with a pair of scissors), or even buy a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and pull the meat off of it.

Pre-packaged tostadas

Queso Fresco (cheese), crumbled

Avocado (cut into cubes)

To Serve

Break a tostada or two into your soup bowl, add chicken, Queso, and avocado  Pour hot broth over the top. Stir a bit, enjoy. Repeat until you are full.

Mexican Chicken Soup Toppings

Leave a Reply

