Carrot Pudding at Grandma’s House

I decided I needed to give my grandmas equal time. So this post is about my Grandma Romrell.  Going to her house meant playing games,  doing crafts (always), and making treats.  Almost every time we went to Grandma’s house, our cousins would be there to play with too.

Scan_20150312 (9)
With my brothers and my cousins.  My mom is wearing the scarf, and I’m sitting between Mom and her sister, Norma.(And in the background you see prints of Blue Boy and Pinkie; which is what I called them.)

This morning I was looking through my recipe box and I found the actual recipe Grandma Romrell used for making carrot pudding.  It was from her good friend, Grace Morgan. When I was about eight years old, I remember going to Grace’s house, with Grandma to cook. They would laugh and talk as they worked together in the kitchen. I was probably underfoot more than anything, but I thought I was helping.  And when my grandma made the pudding at her house, she filled tin 48 oz juice cans with the pudding and covered them with tin foil and put them in the boiling water to steam that way.

Scan_20150311 (87)
Grandma Romrell with her grandchildren. I am the girl on the far right, next to my dad.

It rather tickled the editor in me that the original recipe I have calls for “graded” carrots and potatoes.  I give it an A- (for wrong word choice). I may have to try it, and do the steaming thing. I’ve included that recipe here, or you can use the the Crock Pot Carrot Pudding Recipe referred to in this blog post: Over the River and Through the Woods. 

Grace Morgan’s Carrot Pudding 

2 c. flour                         2 c. sugar

2 c grated carrots         2 c. grated potatoes

2 tsp. baking soda         1/4 tsp. cloves

2 tsp. cinnamon              1 tsp. salt

2 c. raisins                         1 c. chopped nuts

1/2 c. shortening               4 eggs

Mix and put in wide mouth quart jars. Boil in hot water and cook 2 1/2 hours. This makes about 2 1/2 quarts.

Toffee Sauce

2 c. brown sugar

1  c. half-n-half (or whipping cream)

1/2 c. butter

2 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

3 Tbsp cornstarch

1/2 c. water

Whisk corn starch into 1/2 c. water; set aside. Over low heat melt butter, add half-n-half, brown sugar, and salt stirring constantly; slowly increase heat to medium. Bring to a boil; add cornstarch/water mixture return to boil, boil one minute.  Remove from heat, stir in vanilla.  Serve over pudding.

One thought on “Carrot Pudding at Grandma’s House

Leave a Reply

