Planes, Trains, and Automobiles and Pizza . . .

Left-Over Lunches

Okay, so there were no planes involved, but I like the title.  But, pizza was involved, and after my saga, I promise, I have posted my recipe for homemade pizza.  So this morning, in an unfortunate occurrence my left-over pizza, which was going to be my lunch today, got left behind in my vehicle following a traumatic experience.

Currently, I drive a Nisson Xterra, which has been a great way to get from Point A to Point B (and my dad says, if you can do that successfully, it really doesn’t matter what you drive). It was cold last night. There was frost on the windshield, and when I tried to open the driver’s side door, I couldn’t get it to unlock, it was stuck and wouldn’t budge.

I was running late with only twenty minutes to drive, park, catch my train, and still be on time for work, so I decided instead of fiddling with it to try to get it to work I would simply get in through one of the other doors. Because of the setup of the front, I thought it would be easier to go through the back seat door, and then through the center opening between the two front seats.  However, I did not take into account,  A) the placement of the gearshift in relation to the seats, B) the position of the headrest, C) The degree of flexibility I currently possess,  and D) My size (Let’s just say I’m not the size 7 I was six children and thirty-some years ago).

However, throwing caution to the wind, I proceeded with my back door entrance plan. I managed to get myself through the center opening, with the exception of one leg. In the process I kind of fell against the door, wedging myself into a very awkward position (and of course my phone was in my pocket that was jammed against the door, so I couldn’t get it.)  As I tumbled into place, my elbow caught the horn, setting it off, so of course Captain Underfoot, my Border Collie/German Shepherd guardian, came out to investigate and commenced barking furiously behind the fence.

My shoe (the one on the foot that didn’t make the over-the-seat hurdle) had fallen off, and the headrest was in the way, and I was stuck!  I have to admit, I felt several moments of sheer panic!  I told myself I was being ridiculous and to just calm down, and not worry about someone seeing me. Although, I suppose if someone walked by I could have  simply told them I was trying out a new style of automobile yoga.  After my panic subsided, I skooshed (yes that’s a word) a bit until I was more perpendicular (sort of) than horizontal, and in a move destined to prove that I can still do the splits, I managed to throw my other leg over the seat, then over the gearshift, and into the place where it belonged.

I reached back and retrieved my shoe (which I couldn’t put on because the door was still jammed, and I wasn’t about to try any more gymnastics),  I glanced at the clock and determined that I still had time to catch my train if I hurried, and the door lock cooperated (I hoped that by the time I got to the station the Xterra would have warmed up enough that the lock mechanism would be thawed and I could get out normally).  My driving angels were with me and I only encountered one red light, and I made it to the train station with a couple of minutes to spare —and to my great relief, the lock mechanism worked, and I was able to put my shoe on and board the train without complication. But, in all the hoopla, I forgot to get my left-over pizza out of the back. Sigh.  And now that you’ve commiserated with me, I give you my recipe for homemade pizza.

 

Pizza Crust 

Makes 1 small pizza – double or triple for larger pizzas

1 tbsp. dry yeast

1/2 tsp. sugar

2/3/ c. warm water

1 1/2 c. flour

Dissolve sugar and salt into water. Add yeast and let rest for 5 minutes. Stir in flour 1 cup flour. Dough will be sticky.  Add additional flour a tablespoon at a time, kneading after each addition, until a soft dough forms.  Cover bowl and set in a warm place to rise (about 20 minutes).

Grease a pizza pan (or cookie sheet).  Cover hands with butter or oil. Stretch and pat dough to fill pan. Let rise in pan until puffy.  Cover with pizza sauce and toppings. Bake at 375 degrees 20 – 25 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly. If you don’t have a pizza cutter handy, cut the pizza with into slices with a pair of kitchen shears.

Sauce 

1  8 oz can tomato sauce

1/4 tsp dried oregano (or 1 tbsp. fresh chopped finely)

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 tsp pepper

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp oil

1/2 tsp. minced garlic (dry)  or use fresh minced garlic to taste

Mix together and simmer over very low heat while crust is rising.

Suggested Toppings 

Sprinkle a layer of shredded cheese over sauce, add desired toppings, and sprinkle another layer of cheese over the top.

mozzarella cheese, shredded

Italian sausage cooked and crumbled

pepperoni slices

Canadian bacon  & pineapple tidbits

mushrooms, sliced

peppers, diced

black olives, chopped

onions, chopped

 

PS: I ate the cold pizza on the drive home —hey, I was hungry!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles and Pizza . . .

  1. FaceBook Comment: what a wonderful blog, I’m still laughing you’ve made my day. I’ve feel I’ve been in those very same circumstances at times over the years and it was way fun to read about yours. Have a sunny Happy day Love Ya MOM

    Like

Leave a Reply

