Caramel Corn and Other Treats

Sue with grandmothers
Grandma Luthy on the Left, Grandma Romrell on the Right – and hey, hats were all the rage for weddings!

When I was a little girl I loved to go to both of my grandmas’  houses, for very different reasons. At Grandma Luthy’s houses there were almost always cousins there to play with. We spent hours playing on the hill, in the barn, walking the train tracks, having water fights, swimming in the canal, and playing hide-n-seek and other night games in the yard. Once inside, Grandma always had good food. It was usually something simple, but filling.  Her rolls were my favorite, or maybe her huckleberry pie, or maybe it was her chocolate sour cream cake, or maybe her applesauce cookies. (Apparently I remember the desserts best!)  But we loved to be there.

In contrast, when we went to Grandma Romrell’s house, it was in town (albeit a very small town) and we would walk several blocks to the post office to get Grandma’s mail, to the city park to swing, or a few blocks further to go to the  “Merc” and pick up a spool of thread or buttons.  (The Merc, short for General Mercantile  was kind of a general store throwback which was owned by her father when she was a girl.) I loved going to the Merc, it held a myriad of all kinds of things from threads of spool, to ten-nails, to penny candy,  to ropes, to pot roasts and pork chops behind the glass of a display case.  We also played games when we went to Grandma Romrell’s house. Flinch,  Concentration, and of course playing checkers with my grandfather. I was so thrilled when I finally beat him in a game of checkers. It was a hard won victory.

And at their house, there was always a carton of vanilla ice cream.  And Grandma usually had a treat ready, or we would make one together.  I have fond memories of choosing the flavor to make suckers, or pulling taffy (and burning my fingertips), and of watching the peaks form when Grandma made divinity, or helping to make popcorn balls with caramel corn.  So when I found this recipe for caramel corn, I had to share it! (Until I have time to post all of the recipes I’ve collected from both of my grandmothers.  That may be my summer project this year.)  Until then, pop some corn, add the caramel, and settle back with a movie.

caramel corn

Easy Caramel Corn 

3 qts. popped corn

1 c. firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 c. Karo corn syrup

1/2 c. butter

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

In a saucepan, combine butter, salt, Karo syrup, brown sugar. Stir constantly until it starts to boil. Let it boil without stirring for 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in baking soda. Pour over popped corn and enjoy.

(Original recipe found here.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

