Huckleberry Tart

564813_3994897801119_1358494063_n

Summertime is around the corner now, and one of the things I am looking forward to is spending some time in Idaho. This year I want to plan a trip that coincides with huckleberry season.  I have a few left in my freezer, but it’s time to pick more! I love the flavor, and I enjoy going huckle-berrying.  I must admit that I miss Idaho summers, perhaps because my summers were filled with lots of reading, swimming in the local canals, rambling walks, riding the horses, playing softball, Sunday afternoon drives, and of course, anytime we could talk Mom and Dad into it, trips to the Pine Tree Place, with perhaps a side trip to pick chokecherries or huckleberries.   

The Pine Tree Place is my all-time favorite place to be on a summer evening.  Sitting on the porch, sipping an icy-cold glass of mountain spring water from a tin cup while listening to the chatter of chipmunks, the hum of hummingbirds feeding, and the trickle of the creek in the background is my idea of heaven.

Later in the evening, sitting around a campfire, the woodsmoke slowly flavoring my clothes and hair, listening to a guitar accompanying the lusty chorus of a camp song, I know I am in my favorite place in the world. Looking up into a dark sky, without any encroaching light pollution, I am awed by the glory of the night sky, stars glittering brightly against the backdrop of inky blackness, a light breeze stirring  and the aspen trees whispering, that I am home.

I found a recipe for a blueberry tart which I’ve adapted to make my own huckleberry tarts.  Sooo good!

Huckleberry Tart

INGREDIENTS

flour for the work surface

18-ounce sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed

large egg, beaten

tablespoon granulated sugar

ounces cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest

tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

cups huckleberries

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 375° F. On a lightly floured surface, unfold the sheet of pastry and roll it into a 10-by-12-inch rectangle. Transfer to a parchment-lined baking sheet.
  2. Using the tip of a knife, score a 1-inch border around the pastry without cutting all the way through. Brush the border with the egg and sprinkle with the granulated sugar. Bake until golden and puffed, 18 to 22 minutes.
  3. Using the tip of a knife, rescore the border of the cooked pastry without cutting all the way through. Gently press down on the center of the pastry sheet to flatten it. Let cool to room temperature, 15 to 20 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, with an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the cream, lemon zest, and 2 tablespoons of the confectioners’ sugar and beat until smooth. Spread the cream cheese mixture evenly within the borders of the pastry.
  5. Arrange the blueberries in a single layer over the filling and sprinkle with the remaining tablespoon of confectioners’ sugar.

*Original Recipe by By Sara Quessenberry – adapted by moi.

Leave a Reply

