Ice Box Dessert

65fbf636-afda-4ae2-a941-163167af5fab

It’s the middle of the summer, and that means cold desserts are a thing, well, a thing I used to make. I was thinking about my grandmothers and how they always had treats for the grandkids and realized I have a “grandma fail” when it comes to that.  Perhaps I should get a cookie jar, and keep it filled. Or maybe make grandma’s slush for a summertime-cool-me-down treat. I have slush recipes from both Grandma Romrell and Grandma Theola; maybe that would redeem me.

More realistically, I will probably try to keep my freezer stocked with Otter Pops and perhaps some ice cream, because that is what I have the energy for most days. Sometimes, I long to be a stay-at-home grandma, instead of a full-time working woman. I would love to spend time teaching my grandchildren how to cook, and make the treats for them that my grandmas made for me. I feel like they are missing out on a part of their heritage somehow.

Maybe the next time we have a grandma night we can make a dessert, one of my grandmas’desserts, perhaps this recipe for Icebox Dessert that I found in Grandma Theola’s little black notebook. That notebook is one of my prized possessions, filled with her handwritten recipes. Simply reading through it brings back so many wonderful memories of the time I spent in her kitchen.  I can almost hear her sayings, “Oh for pity’s sake.” How I miss all of my grandmothers. I just hope my grandchildren will one day have fond memories of spending time with me.

Ice Box Dessert (Zina)

Crust:

36 graham crackers (crushed)

1/2 c. melted butter

2 tsp. flour

4 tsp. sugar

Mix together and press into the bottom of a 13 x 9 baking dish. Place a layer of crackers crumbs on bottom of pan. Save 1 cup for topping. Bake in 375-degree oven for 7 minutes. Cool.

Filling:

1 lb. marshmallows (cut up)

1 3/4 c milk

Scald milk,  pour over marshmallows and stir until they are dissolved. Add 1 can of crushed pineapple. Cool.

After mixture has cooled, fold in:

2 bananas (mashed)

1/2 c. nuts (chopped)

1/2 c. maraschino cherries

1/2. c whipping cream

Spread over graham cracker crust, sprinkle reserved cup of crushed graham crackers over the top; refrigerate until well chilled. Cut in squares and serve.

 

 

One thought on “Ice Box Dessert

Leave a Reply

