Applescotch Crisp

IMG_5280

They’re a wee bit tattered, missing the covers, and stained, but the cook books pictured have been with me for over thirty years, and they have some of the best recipes — recipes I’ve been using for over 30 years in fact. Yet, they are still a good go-to when I’m looking for something new for dinner, or I want something old-fashioned, or I’m trying to find something like my grandma used to make. They come from church groups, where everyone contributes their favorite recipes. I love these books, because I associate many fond memories of a lot of the ladies who shared their recipes.

Recently for my book group meeting I pulled out these cookbooks looking for an apple crisp recipe I vaguely remembered.  I didn’t find the specific one I was looking for, but I adapted Wanna Bloom’s recipe to use it with the homemade apple pie filling I make. (She’s a wonderful lady, I remember her well from church, who still lives in the little town I grew up in, as far as I know.)

Not to pat myself on the back, but the resulting Applescotch Crisp quickly disappeared. I served it, warm out of the oven, with French vanilla ice cream.  And, it’s quick to put together — prep time about ten minutes and bake for about forty-five, or until it “smells done” as I judge baking time. My kids don’t understand it, but I rarely use a timer, because when you bake something, “done” has a certain smell. The proof of my system is that I very rarely burn anything.

Applescotch Crisp

Filling

1 quart homemade apple-pie filling (or substitute a can from the store) * Spread evenly into baking pan 9 x 9 for thick crisp or 13 x 9 for a thinner crisp.

OR

4 med cooking apples peeled, cored, and sliced

1/2 c. firmly packed brown sugar

1 T. flour

1/4 c. milk

1/2.c water

Mix well and pour into ungreased 9 x9  pan (I use a 13 x 9 pan with the quart of filling).

Topping:

2/3 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. quick rolled oats

1/4 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 – 3.5 oz pkg. butterscotch cook & serve pudding

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. chopped pecans or walnuts (optional) dredged in a couple of tablespoons of flour from the 2/3 c in the recipe.

Directions

Mix the ingredients in order, except the butter. With a pastry blender (or two butter knives if you don’t have a pastry blender) cut the butter into the flour/oatmeal mixture until it is the size of peas and the topping is crumbly.  Spread  topping evenly over the top of apple mixture. Bake for 45-50 minutes in 350° oven. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.

4 thoughts on “Applescotch Crisp

  1. this is a really good one! I feel like I have to give this one a try, thanks so much for sharing. It’s awesome that you’ve saved this from a cookbook you’ve had for a while.

    Are you going to be posting more recipes from this cookbook?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

