In Honor of Pi (Pie)Day – 3.14

I have several fond memories of pi day and pies, both savory and sweet, and I thought I would share some links to some pie recipes in today’s post. But first one of my most vivid Pi Day memories.

Pi Rat 1

Oh, about the picture. My favorite pi/pie day ever you ask? (Well, I imagined you asking!) — It was at a medieval re-enactment event, which happened to fall in close proximity to Pi Day, so it was decided the theme of the day all be pi-e related. So we had several types of pie to eat hand pastries that were amazing, filled with meats, vegetables, and savory spices, and a sweet applie pie variation for dessert. It was all very tasty. We also held a fundraiser for the group. Now, my son, then a teenager, had chosen to call himself, “Rat” (I promise, I did try to talk him out of that unfortunate appellation, but he insisted, and  who am I to stand in the way of his desire.) In any case being a Rat, lent itself extremely well, to being a Pi-Rat, and of course, no one likes rats (except perhaps for my version, i.e. my son) and so it happened that he volunteered to be the target for a pie-throwing, hit-him-in-the-face-if-you-can fundraiser. That’s right, people attending the event paid good money for the opportunity to throw pies at my son.

We also held a fundraiser for the group at that event.  Now, my son, when he was a young teenager, had chosen,  to call himself, “Rat” (I promise, I did try to talk him out of that unfortunate appellation, but he insisted, and  who am I to stand in the way of his desire.) The name stuck — though nowadays, he is known as Giovanni ill Ratto (the rat is still there, in its diminutive form). In any case being a Rat, lent itself extremely well, to being a Pi-Rat, and of course, no one likes rats (except perhaps for my version, i.e. my son) and so it happened that he volunteered to be the target for a pie-throwing, hit-him-in-the-face-if-you-can fundraiser. That’s right, people attending the event paid good money for the opportunity to throw pie at my boy. It was great fun for everyone, and we raised a tidy sum for the fundraiser.  And my boy? Well, you could say he had something near to a milk bath, except it was whipped cream which acted to soften his hair, and his face was baby soft afterward. Thanks for being a good sport, son. You were the best Pi-Rat ever.

In any case being a Rat, lent itself extremely well, to being a Pi-Rat, and of course, no one likes rats (except perhaps for my version, i.e. my son) and so it happened that he volunteered to be the target for a pie-throwing, hit-him-in-the-face-if-you-can fundraiser. That’s right, people attending the event paid good money for the opportunity to throw pie at my boy. It was great fun for everyone, and we raised a tidy sum for the fundraiser.  And my boy? Well, you could say he had something near to a milk bath, except it was whipped cream which acted to soften his hair, and his face was baby soft afterward. Thanks for being a good sport, son. You were the best Pi-Rat ever.

Pi Rat 3

Pi Rat 2

I vaguely remember learning about pi eons ago in school, but as I didn’t ever have to use it to figure out the diameter — or is it the circumference — of a circle I let it drift out of my mind, a random fact that I didn’t recall, until the advent of Pi Day, which is something I can get behind, being someone who loves a slice of pie.

Pie Recipes!

Savory Pies 

We’ll start with my very own Shepherd Pie — the others I found elsewhere on the interwebs. . .

Chicken Pot Pie

This hearty, savory pie is chock-full of vegetables, cream, and spices encased in a flaky crust makes a wonderful dinner.

Cock-a-Leekie Pie

With just a few simple ingredients, herbs, and spices baked inside a an all-butter crust, this Cock-a-Leekie Pie from Bon Appetit will melt in your mouth. Bonus: The filling can be made a day ahead of time.

Spinach Pie

A Greek-style pie, this delightfully flavored entree can be put together and eaten, or frozen for up to three months. Make two and freeze one! Bonus:  It can go from freezer to oven.

Tortilla Pie with Chicken

This super easy-to-make and delightful to eat pie will be the hit of your Pi Day celebration. Combine corn tortillas, chicken, salsa, chiles, sour cream, and cheese to achieve this tasty concoction!

Dessert Pies

Again, starting with my own recipes Frozen Pistachio Pie,  Nanette’s Turtle Pumpkin Pie,  and my own Apple Pie Filling (in fact, I will probably use a bottle of this to make an apple pie for tomorrow.)

Pilfered Pie Recipes from a variety of sources. — Enjoy!

Quick and Easy Pie Chart Pi Day Fruit Pizza Pie 

You can make everyone you’re sharing pie with happy with this one: you can fill each section with a different type of fruit filling. This Instructables tutorial has clear tips for getting the materials you need, preparing the crust, and putting it all together. Then, simply enjoy!

Pi Day wouldn’t be complete without a whipped cream confection, and you will go bananas for this, an amazing concoction of bananas, custard, and whipped cream from Taste of Home: Favorite Banana Cream Pie.

 

Pecan Pie from The Pioneer Woman Cooks blog gives you step-by-step directions complete with pictures for this tasty treat. The commentary is delightful, too.

 

The Best Brownie Pie from Crazy for Crust

The best brownie pie is the ultimate in comfort food. Make brownie pie after a stressful day of work. Have this best brownie pie with caramel sauce, fudge sauce, and a scoop of vanilla or mint ice cream.

Snickerdoodle Pie from Taste and Tell

Make this snickerdoodle pie for Pi Day. This recipe has just the right blend of sugar, cinnamon, and butter. Have this pie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. You (and your friends) will love the homey taste of this scrumptious pie.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

