Grandma Luthy’s Sour Cream Chocolate Cake

shutterstock_298479647

Yesterday some of my children and  grandchildren came over for Sunday dinner. Twelve of us sat down at the table (well, nine of us sat at the table, and three of the kids sat at the portable island/table) for Sunday dinner. We ate slow-cooked, barbequed ribs, veggies, and Jason’s famous garlic mashed potatoes, amid much laughter and talk. The cousins played, the adults visited, and I watched, and listened, and reflected on time passing.  It really doesn’t feel like it was that long ago that I was a child, playing with my cousins while the adults visiting after Sunday dinner at Grandma’s house.

One thing for sure, the food at Grandma’s was always good, there was plenty of it, and there was always dessert. I would be hard-pressed to choose a favorite dessert.  I loved them all, perhaps there was a secret ingredient. I think it was love. The other day I was craving Grandma’s Sour Cream Chocolate Cake and realized I didn’t have the recipe.  A couple of Facebook posts later, I had it.  So today, I am sharing this deceptively simple, wonderfully moist and flavorful chocolate cake with my readers.

Sour Cream Chocolate Cake 

1 c. sugar

1 c. sour cream

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

2 c. flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp soda

2 tbsp baking cocoa

1 c. milk

Cream sugar with sour cream, add egg and vanilla; beat well. Sift fogether flour, salt, soda, cocoa; add 1/3 of dry ingredients to creamed mixture, then add 1/2 of milk, then 1/3 dry,  etc. Mix until smooth. Pour into greased/floured 9×13 dripper pan. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes. Cool and then frost.

 

Creamy Butter Frosting 

1/4 c. milk

1/4 c. butter, softened

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 c. baking cocoa

2 1/2 to 3 1/2 c. powdered sugar

Mix together with a hand mixer or wire whisk until smooth (begin with 2 1/2 c. powdered sugar, add more if necessary to get  a good frosting consistency). Apply with a spatula on cooled cake.

Enjoy a slice of cake with a glass of ice-cold milk.  Mmmmm!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment